Detroit Personal Injury Lawyers Fighting For The Injured

Do You Need To Wear a Helmet While Riding a Motorcycle in Michigan?

In Michigan, motorcyclists are allowed to decide for themselves whether or not they will wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle. However, in order to ride without a motorcycle helmet, certain criteria must be met to assure the state that the rider is able to make such a judgment on their own. All riders without helmets must be over 21 years of age and must have a certain level of insurance coverage and driving experience. It is extremely important for all motorcyclists in Michigan to understand the state laws in order to protect themselves and others. Additionally, even if a person is legally able to ride without a helmet, it might still be best to wear protective headgear.

If you ride a motorcycle in Michigan, make sure you know what the laws say about wearing safety equipment and know the potential risks when you go without a helmet.

Michigan State Laws

According to state laws, motorcycle riders in Michigan are allowed to make their own decisions about whether or not they will wear a helmet while riding. However, in order to go without a helmet, motorcycle riders must be 21 years of age or older. If the age restriction is met, the rider must also have a minimum of $20,000 in first-party medical benefits. All riders must also pass a state-approved motorcycle safety course and must have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least 2 years.

A motorcycle endorsement is an additional credential added to a state drivers’ license that gives the rider specific permission to drive a motorcycle on public roads. Usually, the driver must pass certain skill-driven testing before they are able to add this credential to their standard drivers’ license.

Passengers & Helmet Requirements

Motorcycle passengers may also choose whether or not they wish to wear a helmet while riding. Again, all riders, including passengers must wear a helmet until they reach 21 years of age. After they have reached the age of 21, motorcycle passengers may choose to go without a helmet if they have at least $20,000 in first-party medical insurance, which does not include the insurance coverage of the driver.

Should You Wear a Helmet?

Even though most drivers may not need to wear a helmet while riding their motorcycle, they may want to. In an accident, the rider’s head can be extremely susceptible to injury. Unlike passenger vehicles, motorcycles do not provide a protective cage for the driver, so if a crash occurs, the rider could be thrown from their vehicle. This can result in serious head injuries, whether the rider wears a helmet or not. However, wearing a helmet can provide an added protection that could potentially save the rider’s life.

If you were involved in a motorcycle accident because of the negligence or carelessness of another, make sure you know what to do to defend your rights. Call Goodman Acker today to speak to our personal injury attorneys.