Figuring out what to do after an accident can be extremely overwhelming, especially if you aren’t entirely sure how to handle your insurance policy. In Michigan, all drivers are required to obtain no-fault insurance, which covers several different types of damages in an accident regardless of who was at fault. However, basic no-fault insurance policies rarely cover all of the cost of an accident, which is why you need to discuss your options with an attorney.
If you were involved in a car accident in Michigan, find out how no-fault insurance comes into play and discover what you should do to file a claim.
About No-Fault Benefits
All Michigan drivers must have a minimum level of insurance coverage before they can legally drive. Under this minimum net of coverage, each driver will be entitled to no-fault coverage, which can help with the expense of a car crash. No-fault insurance entitles all insured drivers to certain benefits after a crash, regardless of what caused the accident or who was at fault.
According to the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services, all covered drivers are entitled to benefits that help with the expense of medical bills, loss of wages, replacement services, and property damage. However, a basic no-fault policy does not typically cover vehicle repairs.
Filing a Claim
Dealing with the claims process after a car accident can be extremely troublesome and complex, especially if you or your loved ones are still recovering from your injuries. To make the process easier, it’s always best to work with an experienced personal injury attorney from the get-go.
After a crash, the first thing you should do is notify your insurance company of the crash. Afterwards, you will need to file an application for no-fault insurance benefits. This claim must be filed within 1 year of the accident and all claims should be reviewed by a lawyer before they are submitted. The benefits you receive from your insurance company through this policy are referred to as first-party benefits, and can cover many different types of expenses.
In some situations, obtaining first-party benefits might not be enough to cover the cost of your accident. Plus, if you were seriously injured, you may want to take legal action to seek justice from the liable party. If your car accident was caused by the other party, you may be eligible to file a third-party claim for pain and suffering after you have already filed for no-fault benefits. According the Michigan law, drivers must file a third-party claim within 3 years of the accident for it to be valid.
Third-party claims go to the at-fault driver’s insurance company and can pursue several different types of damages, including pain and suffering, loss of wages, and certain medical expenses. You might also pursue a wrongful death claim on behalf of a loved one if he or she died as the result of someone else’s negligence or carelessness.
If you were involved in a car accident, our Michigan car accident attorneys can help. Contact Goodman Acker P.C. today to get started on your Detroit personal injury case.
We have been helping accident injury victims in Michigan win the maximum settlement for their injuries for 25+ years.
Take a look at what some of our previous clients have to say about the high caliber of the services we provide.
If you have been wrongly injured, we would be happy to review the specific details of your case to determine how we can help.