About Car Insurance Requirements
All drivers are required to have a minimum of $20,000 worth of insurance coverage before they take to the streets. This rule, outlined in the Michigan No-fault Insurance Law, is one of the best in the nation at providing protection for drivers across the state. However, plenty of people break the law by driving without insurance or with insufficient coverage. Or, sometimes the coverage the driver has simply does not cover the cost of the accident, even if he or she has the legally required minimum. Serious injuries or major vehicle damage can be expensive, and sometimes the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage just isn’t enough.
Make Sure You Have Enough Protection
Even though the Michigan No-fault Insurance Law can do an excellent job of protecting you after a crash, it may not always be enough. Instead of relying solely on this law, experts recommend that drivers add a minimum of $100,000 of underinsured motorist coverage to their policies. However, if you do not have this coverage and an accident has already occurred, you may need to take additional action.
At Goodman Acker P.C., our attorneys are passionate about advocating for the rights of the injured. If you were harmed in an accident with an underinsured motorist through no fault of your own, you may have a right to seek compensation for the injuries not covered by insurance.
To discuss your options with a personal injury lawyer, contact Goodman Acker P.C. today.